Some 60 families in a Chinese province have now access to fresh water, made possible by the Clean Water Foundation and GF Piping Systems China. A ceremony marking the inauguration of the new water supply took place on site on 20 October 2018.

“Who has the most beautiful well”, GF Piping Systems asked its national subsidiaries when it started its strategy implementation in 2016. “Shanghai” came the answer. The award for the most creative well therefore winged its way from Schaffhausen (Switzerland) to China, accompanied by a donation of CHF 10’000. The national subsidiary in China was asked to invest this amount in a social project. The Clean Water Foundation contributed a further CHF 40’000 of project fund.

In consultation with the local partner, China Environmental Protection Foundation (CEPF), the village of Qiansonggou, 300 kilometers northeast of the capital Beijing, was chosen. Here, 170 villagers were still extracting their water from shallow wells. At times they had no drinking water at all, at the mercy of the seasons and the weather.

As much water as 140 bathtubs filled to the brim 

The villagers of Qiansonggou gained a functioning drinking water supply infrastructure in mid-2018, under a project led by CEPF. The water originates from a nearby river, which feeds a cistern. At 35 cubic meters, it holds about as much water as 140 bathtubs filled to the brim. In total, a main pipeline almost 3 kilometers in length and 1.5 kilometers of branch pipelines to the individual extraction points in the village were created – all laid 1.5 meters below ground, to make them frost-proof.

 

Thank you to the village community

After three months of construction work, the new water supply began its operation on 16 October 2018. Representatives of GF, the Clean Water Foundation, CEPF and local authorities came to Qiansonggou for the inauguration ceremony on 20 October 2018. Andreas Müller, then CFO, now CEO of GF and president of the Board of Trustees of the Clean Water Foundation, officially handed over the facility to the community and expressed his thanks. He praised local residents, declaring, “Without your commitment and your dedication, this project would not have been realized.” He also linked the handover with a wish to operate the facility carefully and maintain it regularly. “As a result, the improved drinking water supply can serve for many years its service,” Müller concluded, with an eye to the future.

In der chinesischen Provinz können rund 60 Familien ab sofort frisches Wasser trinken. Möglich gemacht haben dies die Stiftung Clean Water und GF Piping Systems China. Am 20. Oktober 2018 fand die feierliche Einweihung der neuen Wasserversorgung statt.

"Wer hat den schönsten Brunnen?", fragte GF Pipings Systems ihre Ländergesellschaften 2016 zu Beginn der Strategieumsetzung. "Shanghai" lautete die Antwort. Von Schaffhausen nach China ging nicht nur die Auszeichnung für den kreativsten Brunnen, sondern auch eine Spende über CHF 10'000. Die Ländergesellschaft China war nun gefragt, den Betrag in ein soziales Projekt zu investieren. Die Stiftung Clean Water gab weitere CHF 40'000 als Projektförderung dazu.

In Absprache mit dem lokalen Partner China Environmental Protection Foundation (CEPF) fiel die Wahl auf das Dorf Qiansonggou, 300 Kilometer nordöstlich der Hauptstadt Beijing gelegen. Dort gewannen 170 Dorfbewohner ihr Wasser bisher aus mehreren Flachbrunnen. Je nach Jahreszeit und Wetterlage hatten sie überhaupt kein Trinkwasser zur Verfügung.

So viel Wasser wie in 140 randvollen Badewannen

In Qiansonggou entstand ab Mitte 2018 unter Federführung von CEPF eine funktionierende Infrastruktur für die Trinkwasserversorgung der Dorfbewohner. Ausgangspunkt ist ein nahegelegener Fluss, der eine Zisterne speist. Sie fasst mit 35 Kubikmetern ungefähr so viel Wasser wie 140 bis zum Rand gefüllte Badewannen. Insgesamt wurden eine fast 3 Kilometer lange Hauptleitung sowie 1,5 Kilometer Anschlussleitungen zu den einzelnen Entnahmestellen im Dorf neu gebaut – allesamt 1,5 Meter frostsicher unter der Erdoberfläche verlegt.

 

Grosser Dank geht an die Dorfgemeinschaft

Nach drei Monaten Bauzeit wurde die neue Wasserversorgung am 16. Oktober 2018 in Betrieb genommen. Zur Einweihungsfeier am 20. Oktober 2018 kamen Vertreter von GF, der Stiftung Clean Water, von CEPF sowie lokale Behördenvertreter nach Qiansonggou. Andreas Müller, damals CFO, heute CEO von GF und Präsident des Stiftungsrats, übergab die Anlage offiziell an die Dorfgemeinschaft und sprach ihr seinen Dank aus. "Ohne Ihr Bekenntnis und Engagement hätte dieses Projekt nicht realisiert werden können", lobte Müller die Bewohner. Er verknüpfte mit der Übergabe auch den Wunsch, die Anlage sorgsam zu betreiben und regelmässig zu unterhalten. "Dadurch können die Einwohner viele Jahre lang von der verbesserten Trinkwasserversorgung profitieren", schloss Müller mit Blick in die Zukunft.