The objective of the Clean Water Foundation is to improve access to drinking water for people around the world. Taking into account different needs, difficult conditions, and the variety of possible measures, GF concentrates its efforts on five focus areas: extracting water, transporting water, storing water, distributing water, and aiding reconstruction.

Project Focus Areas

Extracting Water
Clean Water Project Bangladesh

Building wells is a critical focus area among the activities funded by the Clean Water Foundation. Various technologies and construction methods are used depending on the location and sub-surfaces.

Clean Water in Bangladesh

In Bangladesh, and specifically in the region surrounding the village of Paturia, one must usually go down to a depth of 100 meters to obtain clean drinking water. This is the main reason why the Adivasi, the original inhabitants of Bangladesh, live here in great poverty. With the support of the Shanti-Schweiz aid organization, as well as the Bengali aid organization Dipshikha, the Clean Water Foundation made it possible to build solar operated pump stations to extract drinking water. So that the equipment is easy to maintain, planners kept the technology simple, omitted the use of batteries, and purchased solar panels, transformers, and pumps in Bangladesh. The Clean Water project was thus able to install a drinking water system in the village schools in Paturia, Rudraput, and Shapahar. Local tradesmen and workers completed all tasks in a short time, which ultimately gave 1'200 people, primarily students and teachers, access to clean drinking water and better hygiene conditions.

Transporting Water
Clean Water Project Afghanistan

For various reasons, people settle in places where their annual requirements for drinking water are not necessarily assured. Poverty is generally one of the main reasons why this happens. The construction of water lines and canals is both an opportunity and a prerequisite to have a better quality of life over the long term.

Clean Water in Afghanistan

Due to the extreme topography and the mostly dry climate, surface water hardly exists in Afghanistan. People often have to go very far to obtain clean drinking water. Particularly affected by the aridity are the individuals living in the Hazarajat region, located west of Kabul, the capital city.

In close cooperation with the Afghanistanhilfe Schaffhausen aid organization, 50 hand-operated deep wells, some going down 40 meters, were built as part of the Clean Water project. In a fivemonth-long construction period, the undertaking created 100 jobs for skilled workers and unschooled locals. This Clean Water project supplied 40'000 people in the region with clean, always available drinking water. By placing many of the wells near schools and clinics, the usually long journey to fetch water has become a thing of the past. The presence of the wells has improved local hygiene conditions tremendously, which in turn has also significantly increased life expectancy in this region.

Storing Water
Clean Water Project in Mozambique

In many regions of the world, there are distinct dry and rainy seasons. For that reason, clean, fresh drinking water in sufficient quantities is only available in certain times of the year. The construction of rain water storage systems and water tanks makes this precious liquid available when times are dry.

Clean Water in Mozambique

For about 70 percent of the people living in Mozambique, obtaining drinking water is a daily battle. In the Province of Cabo Delgado, women, who are traditionally responsible for getting water, must often plan on walking for hours in dangerous conditions to bring back just a few liters of water. Partnering with the Helvetas aid organization, the Clean Water Foundation has completed several water projects in Mozambique.

Clean Water in Ntamba

With the objective of improving hygiene conditions and ultimately raising the life expectancy (currently 36 years on average), the Clean Water Foundation participated in building a new water supply system and servicing the time-worn one in Ntamba. The active involvement of local communities and workers made it possible, among other things, to repair diesel engines, replace water mains to the pump stations, and clean up reservoirs and tapping points. The project’s positive outcome now benefits about 38'000 people in 12 villages. Helvetas receives the Energy Globe Award 2007 for drinking water projects in Cabo Delgado

Distributing Water

The construction of wells and water distribution in all variations are key areas of the activities financed by Clean Water Foundation. They are an opportunity and basic requirement for a sustainably improved quality of life. With the establishment of a water cooperative it is ensured that the village community can use the new water distribution system for a long time.

Clean Water in Nicaragua

San Pedro Nuevo is a small community situated in a geothermal active area close to the Maribios volcanic range in Nicaragua. The geothermal field naturally produces saline fluids that contain a very high concentration of arsenic. These fluids mix with the ground water and affect the drinking water of the community in this area. Arsenic is an important drinking-water contaminant: Drinking water rich in arsenic over a long period leads to arsenic poisoning. This results in severe illnesses such as skin cancer, cancers of the bladder, kidney and lung or diseases of the blood vessels of legs and feet. 

The arsenic concentration in San Pedro Nuevo exceeded the limit set out by the World Health Organization (10 µg/l) up to twice. However, there was another challenge: The only access to drinking water in the community was by open, unprotected hand-dug wells, which meant a significant risk of water-borne disease. Also, these wells were very deep and required a big effort to lift water.

In collaboration with Nuevas Esperanzas the Clean Water foundation of GF enabled the development of a local clean water source for the community of San Pedro Nuevo as well as a pump house and a header tank. This means a real improvement in quality of life for the 123 people living in San Pedro Nuevo. Furthermore, for the sustainable and long-term maintenance of the water system, a water committee has been established in the community. In March 2017, after three months of drilling, the new well was successfully completed with a total depth of 130m and a water column of 25m.The testing of water quality showed that the water was completely arsenic free. 

Nuevas Esperanzas will continue to manage the technical side of the project until the system is fully operational as well as providing training to the water committee.

Aiding Reconstruction
Clean Water Project Haiti

The Clean Water Foundation does not provide emergency assistance, but it is involved in phase two of post-disaster operations. At this time, the focus is on rebuilding infrastructures – at least to the point that affected individuals can get by during a transition period lasting a few months to several years.

Clean Water in Haiti

Haiti’s tragic toll after the earthquake of January 12, 2010 was more than 300'000 dead, one million homeless, fear, hunger, and thirst. In that kind of a situation, the availability of clean drinking water is a must for survivors and a sign of hope. Right after news of the disaster broke, the Clean Water Foundation donated USD 50'000 in emergency aid funds. Then, employees at GF Piping Systems in Tustin, California stepped in with their expertise. Within a few days, technicians and engineers had built a water line system, which anyone could install, made of plastic and with six tapping points each. The systems were connected to the water treatment facilities belonging to the Water Missions International organization, thereby providing clean drinking water for the stricken population. What was created in response to an emergency went on to stay in place because the distribution system was ideally suited for long-term development aid due to its lightweight construction and sturdiness.

Das Ziel von Clean Water ist es, für Menschen in aller Welt den Zugang zu Trinkwasser zu verbessern. Angesichts unterschiedlicher Bedürfnisse und schwieriger Verhältnisse sowie der Vielzahl möglicher Massnahmen legt GF den Fokus auf fünf Schwerpunkte: Wasser fördern, Wasser transportieren, Wasser speichern, Wasser verteilen und Wiederaufbauhilfe.

Projektschwerpunkte

Wasser fördern
Clean Water Projekt in Bangladesh

Der Bau von Brunnen ist ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt unter den von Clean Water finanzierten Aktivitäten. Je nach Lage und Untergrund müssen unterschiedliche Techniken und Bauweisen eingesetzt beziehungsweise genutzt werden.

Clean Water in Bangladesch

In Bangladesch kommt sauberes Trinkwasser in der Gegend um das Dorf Paturia meist erst in 100 Meter Tiefe vor. Die Adivasi, die Ureinwohner Bangladeschs, leben hier in grosser Armut. Mit Unterstützung der Hilfsorganisation Shanti-Schweiz sowie der bengalischen Hilfsorganisation Dipshikha ermöglichte die Clean Water Stiftung den Bau von solarbetriebenen Pumpstationen zur Beschaffung von Trinkwasser. Damit die Anlagen leicht zu warten sind, wurde die Technik einfach gehalten, auf die Verwendung von Batterien verzichtet und die Solarpaneele, Umformer sowie Pumpen in Bangladesch erworben. Das Clean Water Projekt konnte damit je eine Trinkwasserstätte in den Schulen der Dörfer Paturia, Rudraput und Shapahar ermöglichen. Alle Arbeiten wurden in kurzer Zeit von ortsansässigen Handwerkern durchgeführt und verhalfen schliesslich 1‘200 Menschen, vorrangig Schülern und Lehrpersonal, zu sauberem Trinkwasser und zu besseren hygienischen Verhältnissen.

Wasser transportieren
Clean Water Projekt in Afghanistan

Aus verschiedenen Gründen lassen sich Menschen an Orten nieder, wo der jährliche Bedarf an Trinkwasser nicht gesichert ist. Armut ist meist der zentrale Grund dafür. Der Bau von Wasserleitungen und -kanälen ist zugleich Chance und Grundvoraussetzung für eine nachhaltig bessere Lebensqualität.

Clean Water in Afghanistan

Aufgrund der extremen Topographie und des überwiegend trockenen Klimas ist in Afghanistan kaum Oberflächenwasser vorhanden. Die Bevölkerung muss für sauberes Trinkwasser oft weite Entfernungen zurücklegen. Besonders betroffen von der Trockenheit sind die Menschen im Gebiet Hazarajat, das westlich der Hauptstadt Kabul liegt.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Afghanistanhilfe Schaffhausen wurden im Rahmen des Clean-Water-Projektes 50 handbetriebene Tiefbrunnen mit bis zu 40 Meter tiefen Schächten errichtet. In den fünf Monaten Bauzeit entstanden 100 Arbeitsplätze für Fachkräfte, genauso wie für ungeschulte Einheimische. Mit diesem Clean-Water-Projekt konnten bis zu 40‘000 Menschen in der Region mit sauberem und jederzeit verfügbarem Trinkwasser versorgt werden. Durch die Platzierung vieler Brunnen in der Nähe von Schulen und Kliniken fallen die bisher üblichen langen Wegdistanzen für die Wasserbeschaffung weg. Das verbessert die örtlichen Hygieneverhältnisse massiv, was letztlich auch die Lebenserwartung markant steigert.

Wasser speichern
Clean Water Projekt in Moçambique

In vielen Regionen der Erde gibt es ausgeprägte Regen- und Trockenzeiten. Frisches und sauberes Trinkwasser in ausreichenden Mengen ist deshalb nur während einer begrenzten Zeit vorhanden. Mit dem Bau von Regenwasserspeichern und Wassertanks kann für die Trockenzeit vorgesorgt werden.

Clean Water in Moçambique

Für rund 70 Prozent der in Moçambique lebenden Menschen ist die Beschaffung von Trinkwasser ein täglicher Kampf. In der Provinz Cabo Delgado müssen Frauen, die traditionell für die Wasserbeschaffung zuständig sind, für ein paar Liter Wasser oft stundenlange, gefährliche Fussmärsche in Kauf nehmen. Mit der Hilfsorganisation Helvetas als Partner, realisierte Clean Water in Moçambique mehrere Wasserprojekte.

Clean Water in Ntamba

Mit dem Ziel Hygienebedingungen zu verbessern und damit letztlich die Lebenserwartung (durchschnittlich 36 Jahre) zu erhöhen, engagierte sich die Clean-Water-Stiftung in Ntamba für den Neubau und die Instandstellung der veralteten Wasserversorgungsanlage. Mit der aktiven Beteiligung der örtlichen Gemeinden und lokalen Arbeitskräften wurden unter anderem Dieselmotoren repariert, Hauptleitungen zu den Pumpstationen ersetzt, Reservoirs und Zapfstellen saniert. Die Folge: Rund 38‘000 Menschen in zwölf Dörfern profitieren davon. Helvetas wird für die Trinkwasserprojekte in Cabo Delgado mit dem Energy Globe Award 2007 gewürdigt.

Wasser verteilen

Der Brunnenbau und die Wasserdistribution in verschiedenen Varianten sind wichtige Schwerpunkte der von der Clean Water Stiftung finanzierten Aktivitäten. Sie ist die Grundvoraussetzung für eine nachhaltig bessere Lebensqualität. Mit der Gründung einer Wassergenossenschaft soll sichergestellt werden, dass die Dorfgemeinschaft das neue Wasserverteilungssystem lange nutzen kann.

Clean Water in Nicaragua

San Pedro Nuevo ist eine kleine Gemeinde in einer geothermisch aktiven Region in der Nähe des Maribios Vulkan-Gebirges in Nicaragua. Das geothermische Feld produziert auf natürliche Weise salzhaltige Flüssigkeiten, die eine sehr hohe Arsen-Konzentration aufweisen. Diese Flüssigkeiten vermischen sich mit dem Grundwasser und beeinträchtigen somit auch das Trinkwasser der Gemeinden in diesem Gebiet. Arsen ist ein wesentlicher Trinkwasser-Schadstoff: Trinkt man über eine lange Zeitspanne Wasser mit einem hohen Arsen-Gehalt, führt dies zu einer Arsenvergiftung. Die Folgen können schwerwiegende Krankheiten wie Hautkrebs, Krebs an Blase, Niere und Lunge oder Erkrankung der Blutgefässe in Beinen und Füssen sein.

Die Arsen-Konzentration in San Pedro Nuevo überstieg den Grenzwert der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (10µg/l) bis um das Zweifache. Hinzu kam das Problem, dass der einzige Zugang zu Trinkwasser aus offenen, von Hand gegrabenen Brunnen bestand. Dadurch wurde das Risiko von Krankheiten, die durch verunreinigtes Trinkwasser verursacht werden, zusätzlich gesteigert. Zudem waren die Brunnen sehr tief, sodass das Heraufbefördern des Wassers sehr aufwändig war.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Nuevas Esperanzas hat die Clean Water Stiftung den Aufbau einer lokalen Quelle von sauberem Trinkwasser für die Gemeinde von San Pedro Nuevo ermöglicht. Dazu gehören auch eine Pumpstation sowie ein Speichertank. Die 123 Bewohner von San Pedro Nuevo erleben dadurch eine signifikante Steigerung der Lebensqualität. Für den nachhaltigen und langzeitigen Unterhalt des Wassersystems wurde zudem eine Wassergenossenschaft bestehend aus Einheimischen aufgestellt. Im März 2017, nachdem drei Monate lang gebohrt wurde, konnte der Brunnen mit einer Tiefe von 130m und einer Wassersäule von 25m erfolgreich fertiggestellt werden. Tests der Wasserqualität haben gezeigt, dass das Trinkwasser komplett arsenfrei ist.

Nuevas Esperanzas wird die technische Betreuung des Projektes weiterführen, bis das System voll operationstüchtig ist sowie die Mitglieder der Wassergenossenschaft weiter schulen.

Wiederaufbauhilfe
Clean Water Projekt in Haiti

Clean Water ist zwar nicht in der Soforthilfe tätig, dafür aber in der zweiten Phase nach einer Katastrophe. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt steht die Wiederherstellung der Infrastruktur im Zentrum. Zumindest soweit, dass die betroffenen Menschen in einer Übergangszeit von einigen Monaten oder mehreren Jahren damit auskommen können.

Clean Water in Haiti

Haitis traurige Bilanz nach dem Erdbeben vom 12. Januar 2010: Über 300‘000 Tote, eine Million Obdachlose, Angst, Hunger, Durst. In solch einer Situation bringt die Verfügbarkeit von sauberem Trinkwasser den Überlebenden auch die Hoffnung zurück. Die Stiftung Clean Water leistete unmittelbar nach Bekanntwerden der Katastrophe 50‘000 US-Dollar Soforthilfe. Mitarbeitende von GF Piping Systems in Tustin/CA (USA) engagieren sich und stellten ihr Know-how zu Verfügung: Innerhalb weniger Tage konstruierten die Techniker ein für jedermann einfach zu montierendes Leitungssystem aus Kunststoff mit jeweils sechs Zapfstellen. Die Konstruktionen werden an die Wasseraufbereitungsanlagen der Organisation Water Missions International angeschlossen, womit für die Bevölkerung sauberes Trinkwasser verfügbar wurde. Was aus einer Notlage heraus geschaffen wurde, ist anschliessend zu einer festen Institution geworden, da sich das Verteilersystem wegen seiner Leichtigkeit und Stabilität auch für längerfristige Entwicklungshilfe eignet.