With the Walk for Water 2019, GF demonstrated a clear commitment to clean drinking water in developing countries. In collaboration with its partner organization Water Mission, the GF Foundation Clean Water supports four projects. The CHF 500'000-donation helps families in Indonesia, Malawi, Uganda and Peru.

Indonesia (Timor)

Indonesia has an abundance of freshwater sources, but up to 89% of water sources are contaminated with fecal matter. Today, a quarter of Indonesian children suffer from waterborne illnesses, which is the leading cause of child mortality in the country. In the Timor region, where the Oenoni, Oben, and Boneana communities are located, Water Mission has an opportunity to provide safe water, sanitation, and hygiene solutions for 3'300 people. Building an infrastructure in the Timor region means Water Mission can support the health and livelihood of entire families and communities. Among others, safe water equipment will be installed in newly constructed buildings, and water distribution points – including tap stands – will be installed throughout the communities.

Malawi (Communities of Bua and Mapira)

Nearly 11'000 people urgently in Central Malawi need safe water. During the day, current water sources in the form of deep wells become too congested for immediate and convenient service. People, particularly women and children, must endure long walks and even longer wait times when collecting water. Water Mission’s team of engineers and specialists have drafted a technical and community development plan that will provide communities with optimal and efficient safe water solutions. With new boreholes, solar submersible pumps, solar panels, strategically placed tap stands, and secure tanks and enclosures, Water Mission can ensure that communities have enough safe water where and when they need it.

Peru (Community of San Roque)

In the Amazon Basin, communities are drinking unsafe water directly from the Ucayali River, one of two main tributaries feeding into the Amazon River, a known source of dark brown, dirty water. These rivers are contaminated by sediment from runoff, deforestation, and human activity. People consume this supposedly convenient water and use it for bathing, cooking, and cleaning. In fact, this region has been identified as one of the areas in Peru with the most limited access to safe water. Water Mission will set up a safe water system with multiple access points, serving two schools, a municipal building, and households. By installing a 15-kilowatt solar array, piping, treatment and storage facilities, and metered connections, Water Mission will provide safe water for up to 400 families.

"I’ve experienced firsthand the transformation that occurs in communities throughout Peru thanks to the generous support from GF as a result of their annual Walk for Water. I’d like to personally thank you for walking so others don’t have to."
Juan Simon, Water Mission Peru, Country Program Director

 

 

 

Uganda (Buteba)

A local health center relies on rainwater collection for its daily needs. This water is neither filtered nor treated, making it unsterile for medical use. Medical professionals attend to patients without washing their hands or tools. The staff at Buteba Health Center are forced to treat patients in an unsanitary method. In response to the health center’s safe water needs, Water Mission engineers have developed a plan to drill a deep well that can be accessed on foot by nurses and doctors in under six minutes. To protect this well, a chamber will be constructed. Solar pumps, solar panels, water-control switches, hydraulic pipes, and durable storage structures will support the sustainability of this project.

Der Walk for Water bei GF setzte 2019 ein grosses Zeichen für sauberes Trinkwasser in Entwicklungsländern. Die GF Stiftung Clean Water unterstützt über ihre Partnerorganisation Water Mission jetzt vier konkrete Hilfsprojekte. Die Spende über CHF 500'000 hilft damit Familien in Indonesien, Malawi, Uganda und Peru.

 

 

 

Indonesien (Timor)

Indonesien verfügt über viele Süsswasserquellen. Jedoch sind bis zu 89 Prozent davon durch Fäkalien verunreinigt. Aktuell leiden ein Viertel der indonesischen Kinder an durch Wasser übertragene Erkrankungen, der häufigsten Ursache für Kindersterblichkeit in dem Land. In der Region Timor – dort liegen die Gemeinden Oenoni, Oben und Boneana – kann Water Mission für 3'300 Menschen trinkbares Wasser, sanitäre Anlagen und Hygienelösungen bereitstellen. Durch den Aufbau einer Infrastruktur in der Region Timor unterstützet Water Mission die Gesundheit und die Lebenssituation ganzer Familien und Gemeinden. Unter anderem werden in neu errichteten Gebäuden Anlagen für sicheres Wasser installiert und in den Gemeinden Wasserverteilungspunkte, einschliesslich Entnahmestellen, eingerichtet.

Malawi (Gemeinden Bua und Mapira)

Fast 11'000 Menschen in Zentralmalawi benötigen dringend sicheres Wasser. Im Tagesverlauf verstopfen die bestehenden Wasserquellen (Tiefbrunnen) so sehr, dass sie nicht mehr direkt genutzt werden können. Die Menschen, insbesondere Frauen und Kinder, müssen weite Fussmärsche und lange Wartezeiten auf sich nehmen, um an Wasser zu gelangen. Die Ingenieure und Fachleute von Water Mission haben einen Plan entworfen, der den Gemeinden optimale und sichere Wasserlösungen bieten wird. Durch neue Bohrlöcher, Solartauchpumpen, Solarmodule, strategisch platzierte Entnahmestellen sowie sichere Tanks und Anlagen stellt Water Mission sicher, dass die Gemeinden über ausreichend trinkbares Wasser verfügen.

Peru (Gemeinde San Roque)

Im Amazonasbecken trinken die Menschen unsauberes Wasser direkt aus dem Fluss Ucayali. Dieser ist einer der zwei wichtigsten Zuflüsse des Amazonas, der für sein dunkelbraunes, schmutziges Wasser bekannt ist. Der Fluss ist durch Ablagerungen kontaminiert, die aus Abwässern, Abholzungsaktivitäten und anderen menschlichen Eingriffen stammen. Die Menschen verwenden diese vermeintlich komfortable Wasserquelle und nutzen sie zum Baden, Kochen und Waschen. Die Region wurde als eines der peruanischen Gebiete mit dem schlechtesten Zugang zu sauberem Wasser erklärt. Water Mission wird ein System für sauberes Wasser mit mehreren Entnahmestellen installieren, das zwei Schulen, ein kommunales Gebäude und Privathaushalte versorgt. Durch die Installation einer Solaranlage mit einer Kapazität von 15 KW, Rohrleitungen, Aufbereitungs- und Speicheranlagen sowie Zähleranschlüsse wird Water Mission sauberes Wasser für bis zu 400 Familien bereitstellen.

"Ich habe die Verbesserung in Gemeinden in ganz Peru aus erster Hand erlebt – dank der grosszügigen Unterstützung von GF, dem Ergebnis des jährlichen Walk for Water. Ich möchte mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihren Einsatz bedanken."
Juan Simon, Water Mission Peru, Country Program Manager

 

 

 

 

 

Uganda (Buteba)

Ein lokales Gesundheitszentrum deckt seinen Tagesbedarf an Wasser durch aufgefangenes Regenwasser. Dieses Wasser wird weder gefiltert noch behandelt. Daher ist es nicht steril und damit für den medizinischen Einsatz ungeeignet. Die medizinischen Fachkräfte betreuen die Patienten, ohne sich vorher die Hände zu waschen oder die Instrumente zu reinigen. Das Personal im Buteba Health Center ist somit gezwungen, die Patienten unter unzureichenden Hygienebedingungen zu versorgen. Um den Bedarf des Gesundheitszentrums an sauberem Wasser zu decken, haben die Ingenieure von Water Mission einen Plan für einen Tiefbrunnen erarbeitet. Diesen können die Pflegekräfte und die Ärzte zu Fuss in weniger als sechs Minuten erreichen. Zum Schutz des Brunnens wird eine Kammer errichtet. Solarpumpen, Solarmodule, Wasserkontrollschalter, hydraulische Rohrleitungen sowie robuste Speicheranlagen unterstützen den nachhaltigen Ansatz des Projekts.